Marley & Me by John Grogan

My Rating:

Finished reading on: June 22, 2008

Fiction or non-fiction? Genre? Non-fiction, memoir

What led you to pick up this book? I am not a dog-lover. I am scared of dogs. Even the small ones I don’t like because they are too yippy and like to nip at me. However I have recently fallen in love with my cousin’s little shih tzu so I’m slowly warming up to dogs in general. And after all the good reviews about this book and the fact that it was available on BookMooch, I went and mooched it and read it as soon as it arrived.

Plot summary: John Grogan writes about Marley, an excitable and clumsy Labrador.

What did you like most about the book? It made me want to get a Labrador despite Marley being Marley.

What did you like least? Nothing, really. It was a great story and a well-written one (i.e. you don’t need to exercise your brain too much). Good books can make me laugh out loud and cry out loud. This one did.

First line from the book: In the summer of 1967, when I was ten years old, my father caved in to my persistent pleas and took me to get my own dog.

What did you think of the ending? Sob fest! Sweet and touching.

Random quote from the book:

I quickly discovered I could affect the tempo of his wagging by simply touching him. When I had both hands on the wheel, the beat came at a steady three thumps per second. Thump. Thump. Thump. But all I needed to do was press one finger against the top of his head and the rhythm jumped from a waltz to a bossa nova. Thump-thump-thump-thump-thump-thump! Two fingers and it jumped up to a mambo. Thump-thumpa-thump-thump-thumpa-thump! And when I cupped my entire hand over his head and massaged my fingers into his scalp, the beat exploded into a machine-gun, rapid-fire samba. Thumpthumpthumpthumpthumpthumpthumpthump!

“Wow! You’ve got rhythm!” I told him. “You really are a reggae dog.”

Get it on Amazon: Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World’s Worst Dog

Leave a Reply

